Fourth New England Nengajo Contest sponsosred by Consulate General of Japan in Boston

The Consulate General of Japan successfully held the Fourth New England New Year’s Greeting Card Contest for elementary, middle and senior high school students who study Japanese. As 2017 is the Year of the Rooster, according to the traditional Chinese calendar, many of the cards displayed a wonderful image of a rooster. Although it is extremely difficult to choose the best cards, the winners are shown below.

Elementary School Division

First Place  Rishi Duvvuru First Place  Jessrae Barto First Place  Seth Fulcher
Hall Dale Elementary School Marcia Buker Elementary Hall Dale Elementary School

Runners-Up:Lochaln O’Connor (Hall-Dale ES), Kimberly Pinkham (Marcia Buker ES), Lucy A. Gray (Hall-Dale ES), Jaden Nickerson (Marcia Bucker ES), Isaac Soule (Marcia Buker ES), Alana Badger (Hall-dale ES), Mason Howard (Hall-Dale ES)

Middle School Divistion

First Place  Madelyne Koehling Second Place  Isabella Noriega-Allen
Hall Dale Middle School Hall Dale Middle School

Runners-Up: Anjee Clavet (Hall-Dale MS), Brady Gardner (Hall-Dale MS), Sawyer Howe (Hall-Dale MS), Natthida Beam Itthiphahlakom (Hall-Dale MS)

High School Divistion

First Place Shirley Wu First Place  Ashe Mijo Third Place  Chance Taylor Third Place  Mary Le
Brookline High School Exeter High School Exeter High School Phillips Exeter Academy>/td>

Runners-Up:Zoe Thompson (Exeter HS), Jilie Burns (Exeter HS), Lilit Mathieu (Hall-Dale HS), Kalel Lopez (Phillips Exeter Academy), Emily Bartlett (Exeter HS), Esther (Brookline HS)

Judges:Mariko Brothers (JAL), Akemi Chayama (Boston Childeren Museum), Kate Finnegan (Kaji Aso Studio), Masamichi Hongoh (Hartford Japan Society), Matt Krebs (Japan Society of Boston), Anne Nishimura Morse (Museum of Fine Arts), Glenn Pereira (Urasenke Boston), Toshi Saitoh (Japan America Society of VT), Spencer Viner (Japan America Society of RI), Kaye Vosburgh (Ikebana International), Yasuhiro Yamauchi (Consulte General of Japan), Katsutoshi Yokoyama (Japanese Language School in Boston), Mikio Yoshimura (Red Sox).  (alphabetical order)

Prizes sponsored by Boston Red Sox and Japan Air Lines (alphabetical order)